LOOK OF THE WEEK: 60s Mod Inspired

My latest look is a nod to the bright, graphic and bold designs of the swinging 60s; the sleek bobs, lashes and legs for miles, and the high fashions of Carnaby street!

LOOK OF THE WEEK - THE ULTRA- 60s mod

I was inspired by the amazing work of Makeup genius Val Garland. Val was Head Makeup Artist/ Creative Director for the Romance Was Born SS 13/14 runway show at Mercedes Benz Fashion Week 2013.

Garland used key elements such as high black graphic brows, colourful, highly pigmented cheeks, bindis in inner corners of the eyes, pom poms as decorative elements, and 60s doll lashes, all topped off by a variety of colourful, sleek bowl-cut bobs.

She also incorporated textured fabric lashes, dots, blue lips, and graphic lined eyes to ensure her models all looked unique, vibrant and in synch with the colourful, boldly patterned prints of the range.

Image

ImageI adore everything about the looks she created – colourful, playful, fun with a graphic, carnival-esque retro edge. I love using pigments bright colours make me happppy!

And I also love any look that calls for more and more decoration and embellishment. Bring it!

Here’s my take, using Garland’s work as a springboard for my inspiration and adding my own little touches.

There’s three main looks at play here, the doll-like, carnation-tinged eyes with pink lips and blonde wig was the first:

 

Secondly there’s a bright emerald green lid with much more eyeliner and a yellow (yes, yellow) lip shade topped with lots o’ gloss. Fun! I’d never worn yellow on my lips before so was I interested to see how it would translate- it could either look verrrrrry bad or really good.

I think with all the other colours going on, and the bold dark eyebrows and eyeliner, it works. I tried out two wigs with this, a short black pixie wig (very 60s, looked good for the pics but IRL was pretty horrendous!) and a short platinum bobbed wig. Just because.

 

Thirdly, I stuck with the emerald eyes and the platinum wig and darkened those lips up with a plummy black licorice shade.  I don’t know the shade, I just used pigments mixed together with gloss.

 

Lots of fun, I loved doing these looks!

What a fun way to spend a sunny afternoon, with my favourite colours, glosses and sparkles, taking photos in our awesome green lush garden, and just generally being a total victim of fashion and style. Love!

xDS

Hey lovers, leave me a comment! I'd love to hear your thoughts....

