LOOK OF THE WEEK : POP ART-INSPIRED!

This is a Pop Art look, inspired by the pop art styling of Roy Lichtenstein et al.

LOOK OF THE WEEK - THE ULTRA- POP ART4

You’re probably familiar with the bold, cartoon-like style- lots of makeup artists give this one a go as its different, unusual and gives one the chance to extend the skills in a more graphic way whilst honing those dot skills!

It’s quite a surreal look given its cartoon-like qualities, and one can easily find themselves getting really drawn into the look and forgetting about your own persona.

It was something I’d been meaning to try for some time, so I got out the pigments and created some dots in primary red and blue onto my face, which I’d prepped, primed and coloured to a smooth pale base. I used a black fine tipped eyeliner pen from Soap & Glory (my old trusty the ‘Supercat’- great for line work) to do all those bold lines and those comical brows! They were the most fun part! I also used some Kryolan aquacolours to paint the tear-tracks under the eye in a variety of tones, again in a comic-style.

I didn’t take too long on this look, I was in a bit of a hurry on this particular day and just wanted to see what the results would look like. If I did it again I would definitely go all out with some props, and coloured hairspray (bright yellow anyone?) to give it a hyperreal and highly stylised look. Hope you enjoy the pics of this fun look!

Feel free to try out the look yourself – I’d love to see your pics if you do!

xDS

‘Pop Art- inspired look’
Makeup by Danee Sunshyne MUA ©2014

DSC07908.hr

DSC07904.hr

DSC07887.hr

DSC07820.hr

DSC07806.2.hr

DSC07800.hr

DSC07934.hr

DSC07930.hr

 

Hey lovers, leave me a comment! I'd love to hear your thoughts....

