KNOW YOUR PRODUCT: Medusa’s makeup

I was deliriously chuffed when I recently received a mystery package from my sis, who has been OS visiting the States on a whirlwind, 5 week adventure.

She’d told me she was sending something my way – a brand of cosmetics that she’d discovered over there which would rock my socks off! I was intrigued.

Knowing how keen I am to only endorse makeup brands that are a) cruelty free and b) preferably mineral, with as many natural ingredients as possible, the makeup brand she sourced was going to tick all my boxes, she implied in her email.  For days I incessantly pondered what new mysterious brand could be coming my way that I would not have heard of.

The day had arrived and upon opening my package I was completely blown away and impressed.

Inside awaited a range of makeup from Medusa’s Makeup, a cosmetics line from Chicago with roots in the gothic, cyber goth, punk, rock and electroclash subcultures.  Included were 12 highly pigmented pressed shadows in stunning, incredibly zippy neon colours, presented in beautiful little black pots; a new set of eyeshadow brushes (which never go astray, I’m always losing them); plus a sealer (which turns any eyeshadow into liquid colour)  and an eye primer called ‘Stick It’.   All in eye-popping packaging with great graphics and lots of hot pink.  Yep, fabbo!

Medusa’s Makeup was started by Lora Chasteen and her husband and business partner, Pier Novikov, officially launched in 2006.  All of their products are thoughtful, artful and full of spirit, as well as being certified cruelty free.   Medusa’s Makeup offers super bright and colorful makeup, from a range of 48 x sparklings eye dusts, highly charged pigment eyeshadows, pigment makeup, 100% all natural mineral eyeshadow,
glitter eye shadow, and bright mineral eyeshadows.

As well, they offer a range of vegan cosmetic brushes, eye primer, Professional Makeup Artist Kits, and 100% all natural mineral body shimmer, blush, theatrical foundation, theatrical makeup and much much more! Phew!

Their premise is they offer the highest quality cosmetics that are cruelty free , striving to offer the best ingredients and the highest pigmentation that they can.

I can’t wait to give the line a go- the hues look rich and vibrant and promise to apply true to colour with great longevity!And hey, if they supply to one of my femme idols, Nina Hagen, they must be pretty damn hot.

I have been waiting to get my little mitts on some super-pigmented colours for a while now, so I’m very happy with my score (thanks again sis!)

I’m also on a quest to find alternative lines to M.A.C; as much as I love the brand, I like to keep an open mind to others that do the job well, and  it shouldn’t be the only brand to dominate the market for high quality pigments.  A big advocate for seeking and supporting the littler guys who are doing things their way, I’m thoroughly enjoying researching other fun brands that pack a punch.  Sugarpill, Smashbox, Manic Panic, Urban Decay, and now Medusa’s, are giving the M.A.C empire a good run in the pigment stakes.

Also, I’ve heard rumours about M.A.C wanting to sell into the China market for some time now. This means that they will have to practically do an ethical backflip in order to satisfy China’s strict trading laws, which dictate that cosmetics must undergo stringent product testing, which abhorrently, includes testing on animals.

Whether there is truth to this is yet to be determined, as M.A.C are vehemently denying.  Does anyone know what the current stance is?

Until I can confirm its always good to have other options, and Medusa’s makeup offers a good one.  They believe strongly in no animal testing, and their cosmetics have been approved by PETA, who awarded them their Trailblazer award.

Can’t wait to see what adventures await with these incredibubble neon colours!

Medusa’s makeup has my thumbs up in advance.

xDS

Posted in: Uncategorized | Tagged:

2 thoughts on “KNOW YOUR PRODUCT: Medusa’s makeup

  1. Franklin Brano says:

    This is my first time i visit here. I found so many entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! Keep up the excellent work.

Hey lovers, leave me a comment! I'd love to hear your thoughts....

