MUSINGS: Music and creative artistic endeavour

Music is such an important thread in the fabric of my life. It has been a major part of my life since I was a wee tot.

My adoration for music, and compulsion for tune collecting, is what keeps me breathing through the good and the bad.

Lyrics, artists, fashions, trends, icons, tragedies, myths, legends.  The colours and the spaces between notes and the complexities of a landscape of sonic sound waves.

Music constantly inspires, amuses, calms, soothes, evokes emotion, riles, lights me up, elicits conversation and debate, creates common bonds, happy memories, shared experiences.

It’s such a powerful medium of expression that overflows into everything I do, and I could not live without it.

I listen to music in some form or another pretty much all day every day. I don’t play favourites anymore; I’ve given up on that long ago. Now I just revel in an amazingly vast and deep appreciation for a range of different sounds and styles.  Whatever sounds good to me at the time and suits my mood or frame of mind, works for me.

Lately I’ve been keenly exploring the synergy between music and creative, artistic endeavour;  the unique sine waves that different types of music create that lock into different parts of the psyche, as if by magic.  I love exploring how different sounds and different types of music affect my mood, my art, my headspace and my practice.

Sometimes it’s subliminal, deep techno that will put me in an amazingly alpha -creative state; other times it brash, overt, propulsive industrial aggrotech that will force my heart to pump blood through my veins that bit faster and enable my adrenalin to peak to an ultra-alert state.

Other times, film scores, obscure 50s moog records, stoned sunday dub, psych rock, classical/ baroque, kraut rock, old rocksteady 45s, and a smorgasbord of otherworldly sounds, will put me in the right state to achieve that state of flow that seems to yield some of my better results; those outcomes that happen when the subconscious is allowed to roam freely and is challenged to the point that it is stimulated and motivated without constraint.

Music is my life, and my life is music.

I’d love to hear what gets you going.

xDS

Hey lovers, leave me a comment! I'd love to hear your thoughts....

